## Acknowledgments

My sincerest appreciation to

Lawrence R. Klein, Benjamin Franklin Professor of Economics (Emeritus) University of Pennsylvania The 1980 Nobel Laureate in Economics who taught economics and econometrics plus values of life to me;

Robert J. Alexander.

Professor of Economics (Emeritus), Rutgers University, who gave me encouragement and inspiration to accept the challenge and keep the Rutgers' Scarlet flag flying across both the Atlantic and the Pacific;

Dr. Otmar Issing, former Chief Economist and Member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank (ECB), who in two personal conferences thoroughly convinced me of the forcefulness of his thesis: One money to one Europe;

John M. Letiche, Professor of Economics (Emeritus), University of California at Berkeley, Jüergen Schröeder, Professor of Economics, Mannheim University, Mannheim, Germany, and Arthur Grimes, Chairman, Board of Directors, Reserve Bank of New Zealand, formerly Professor of Economics, Victoria University, Wellington, New Zealand, who lent their generous scholastic support to help me conclude this book;

Professor M. Fase and Dr. Wim F. V. Vanthoor, former Vice President and Head of Econometric and Special Research, De Netherlandsche Bank, Amsterdam, the Netherlands, and M. Jean-Pierre Patat, former Director General, Des Etudes et des Relations Internationales, Banque de France, Paris, for having me as a Visiting Scholar with their respective Central Banks in 2000 and providing me substantive opportunities for communications with research economists and policy experts at both banks;

Professor Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Hans Tietmeyer, Professor Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Helmut Schlesinger, Professor Dr. Hermann Remsperger, Dr. Reiner Koenig, Dr. Heinz Herrmann, and Mr. Wolfgang Schill for having me as a Visiting Scholar with Der Deutsche Bundesbank in Frankfurt in 1999 and again in 2000, which gave me opportunities to engage in personal

conferences with a good number of research economists and administrators of the Bank;

Kiyoshi Kojima, Professor of Economics (Emeritus), Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo; Shinichi Ichimura, International Center for Studies of East Asian Development (ICSEAD), Kokura; Hiromitsu Ishi, President (Emeritus), Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo; Yoshinori Shimuzu, Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo; Yoko Sazanami, Professor of Economics (Emeritus), Kieo University, Tokyo; Masumi Kishi, Chuo University, Tokyo; Yasuhiro Maehara, Bank of Japan, Tokyo, Japan;

Chang Peikang, Huazhong University of Science & Technology, Wuhan; Zhang Zhongli, Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences, Shanghai; Liu Guoguang, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, Beijing; Huang Fanzhang, China Reform Forum and former Senior Vice President, PRC State Planning Commission, Beijing; Heping Cao, Peking University, Beijing, China;

Duk Chung Kim, President (Emeritus), Ajou University and Formerly Minister for Education, Republic of Korea; Jang-Hee Yoo, EWHA University, Seoul, Korea;

Chyau Tuan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong; Linda Y. F. Ng, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China;

Tzong-shian Yu, President (Emeritus), The Chung-Hua Institution for Economic Research, Taipei, Taiwan;

Anwar Nasution, formerly of University of Indonesia and Bank Indonesia, Jakarta, Indonesia;

Edita Tan, University of the Philippines, Manila, Philippines;

Thienchay Kiranandana, President (Emeritus), Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok; Sumalee Pityanan, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok; Suthiphand Chirativat, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand, and;

R. Radhakrishnan, Director, The Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research (IGIDR), Mumbai, India

for their generous professional cooperation for so many years;

Swadesh R. Datta-Gupta, Norman Markowitz, James P. Winder, Terutomo Ozawa, Terence D. Agbeyegbe, James T. H. Tsao, Richard F. Kosobud, H. Peter Gray, Richard Hooley, George Rosen, Steven L. Husted, David J. Green, Robert H. Aten, John Malcolm Dowling, Frank S. T. and Mei-Chu Hsiao, Peter D. Loeb, Kanta Marwah, Michael G. Plummer, Saleem M. Khan, Edna E. Ehrlich, Lee Fazio Fiorino, Wenhui Wei, Ming-Chung Wen, Amiya Sharma, Chien-Chung Nieh, Kiseok Lee, Daniel Tantum, and Mary Merva for their friendship and research collaboration over the years, giving me far more than I could ask for;

Donna Ghilino, Dorothy Rinaldi, Paula Seltzer, Janet Goodstein, Debra Holman, and Janet Budge for their loving friendship;

David T. Motovidlak and Wade Olsson for all their help every time my computer refused to respond to my commands;

Laura F. Liang, who served as the Research Associate for this project with a commitment to total excellence and passionate love to deliver the very best;

and Usha Kaul, Ashok Kaul, Kavery and Bhupender Kaul for their love and affection which has kept driving me.

## Special thanks to

The Fulbright Senior Specialist Program, for designating me a Fulbright Senior Specialist for a five-year tenure, 2002–2007, Washington, DC;

Der Deutsche Bundesbank, Frankfurt; Banque de France, Paris; De Netherlandsche Bank, Amsterdam; Bank of Japan, Tokyo; Japan Bank for International Development, Tokyo; Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Wellington, New Zealand; Reserve Bank of Australia, Canberra; Ministry of Finance, Tokyo; Federal Reserve Bank of New York; Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco; and Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, for having me as a Visiting Scholar, and/or for inviting me to give research presentations;

Archibald S. Alexander Library, Rutgers – The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick, NJ, for all their generous help in collecting data and source materials;

The University Research Council, Rutgers – The State University of New Jersey, for their financial support to my research over many years, New Brunswick, NJ;

The Ford Foundation; The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation; Asian Development Bank; The East Asian Development Network of The World Bank; and The United Nations Development Program, for their funding support for the 24 international conferences sponsored by the American Committee on Asian Economic Studies (ACAES) between 1981 and 2002, each of which I had the privilege and honor to co-chair;

**Elsevier, Amsterdam, The Netherlands**, for their publication of this volume, and my very special thanks are due to Vallerie Teng-Broug, Helen Collins, Mark Newson, and Joy Ideler for their splendid cooperation as I worked to complete the manuscript.